State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)


The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. SARA is overseen by a National Council and administered by four regional education compacts.

Columbia University is an approved member of SARA, through the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), the SARA regional education compact for New York.

As of August 2017, 49 states have introduced legislation to join SARA and/or have joined a regional compact.

Please click here to view information about Complaints Regarding Distance Education at Columbia.